Jan. 23rd, 2010

chuckro: (Default)
This is, amazingly, the worst playable game I've seen in a very long time. Possibly since Secret of the Stars on the SNES. There were so many ideas that could have worked, but just didn't. And there wasn't anything that made me turn it off in disgust, just a lot of things that added up to make me think, "Hunh, that was awful."

But tell us what you really think. )

It's not like Unlimited Saga, where one bad mechanic (the reel system) spoils an otherwise really clever game. It's not like Breath of Fire 2, where an excellent game got an awful, awful translation. It's not like The 7th Saga, where executive meddling during localization turned a decent game into a terrible one. It's like they tried a whole bunch of "creative" things that weren't actually good ideas to disguise the fact that they had barely an hour of actual game. (I played 5 hours normally, which got me about a quarter of the way through the game. Then I plugged in an action replay to cut out all of the grinding. Another five hours and I was nearing the end of the game...)

Profile

chuckro: (Default)
chuckro

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1 234567
8 9 1011121314
1516 1718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 12:52 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios